Types of Friends you have in college

Hi, hi, I know I said I would be active, but surprise surprise I got busy and I died. Well, clearly not literally. Or is it my ghost who’s typing this. Alas, you’ll never know.

Anyway, moving on, I did actually get super busy- college officially started from August 1, but I was busy with orientation of juniors and stuff, so it was just super busy. But the other day, I was thinking, and I realised that I have so many friends at the end of first year. Like, literally, commuting from one class to another I meet like a hundred people I know, so it’s crazy. Wow, I am such a braggart aren’t I. But no, that wasn’t my intention, I just am amazed because I am an introvert. Y’all know that. But then I got to thinking, and I realised the friends you make in school are so different from the friends you make in college. And I thought of well, technically, categorizing all the friends/acquaintances I have made in college?

Also if you’re interested, here’s a post I wrote on Types of Friends I have and Types of People I met in the first two weeks of college, so give them a read if you wanna!

Let’s begin!

  1. The Know-it-Alls:
    I know Know-it-Alls is used in a negative sense, but in this case I mean the people who know practically everything that’s going on in my very dry life. So, there isn’t much, but well, yeah, they know shit.
  2. The Vibers:
    These are the people who you vibed well with the first time and ended up staying friends with throughout the year, (and hopefully throughout the uni experience).
  3. The Snakes (except you’re a snake, sort of?):
    Okay, so there are a few people in university you have to put up and be really good friends, just because you have to, and not because you want to. It might be because they’re in the same class as you or whatever. It’s not like you won’t be there for them, but it’s just that you won’t let them be there for you on the account that you don’t trust them.
  4. The Study/Work Friends:
    These people are just people you met through a club or a group assignment or something similar. You might have nothing to do with them anymore, but you still say hi to them etc.
  5. The Randos:
    These are people you have no memory of meeting, and they just like randomly popped up in your life? Like there are so many people I know and I am just like, wait how do I know you, and they randomly just exist in your life, it’s crazy.
  6. The Friend of a friend:
    These are people you’ll say hi to just because you met them through a common friend and you know that they exist so you’ll say hi to them.
  7. The Senior/Junior:
    So, while this might not be frequent in school settings, there are many people you’ll meet and be friends with who are not in the same year as you and you’ll bond with them and everything- it’s cool, they’re nice, fun people.

And that was all I had for you today! Let me know if I missed any category! Are any of you guys starting uni this year? Talk to meeeeeeeeee!

2 thoughts on “Types of Friends you have in college

Add yours

  1. One more category which was certainly a large category at my university …. the “non-traditional students.” These are older people who are either going back to uni, or going for the first time. They are old enough to be my mother. These folks tend to have families and jobs, and they still work 100% harder at their classes than the 18-year-old students. One of my best friends at uni, and one of the only ones I retain to this day, was a nontraditional student. We have known each other for about 30 years now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started