Movie Review | Shershaah

Hey everybody! Welcome or welcome back to my blog!

So, it’s nearly 2 in the morning here, and even though tomorrow (Well, technically today) is a Monday, my parents and I decided to watch a biopic, titled Shershaah, based on the life story of late Captain Vikram Batra, who played a major role in the Kargil War of 1999 which was fought by India and Pakistan.

The film is directed by Vishnu Vardhan and stars Sidharth Malhotra and Kiara Advani in the lead roles. It was released on 12th August 2021 on Amazon Prime Video.

Plot:

It rarely so happens that Indian movies portray the life of a person without exaggerating, and this was one of those times. The movie shows the charismatic Vikram Batra and his love for Dimple Cheema and his country.
To talk about the patriotic side of the film, it is definitely more projected and shows the courage and bravery of every Indian soldier in great detail. It invokes love and respect for every Indian soldier in every Indian.
Now, as you all must know, I am a sucker for romantic stories. And the story of Vikram and Dimple is one that made me melt my heart. I couldn’t help but imagine myself in place of them with my partner, having fun like them. *sighs and zones out*

And the end was just so painful to watch, knowing what was going to happen. Everyone watching the film couldn’t help but fall in love with Vikram Batra, and to know he’s going to die…. it’s just painful.

Acting:

I found Sidharth Malhotra’s acting slightly bland, but except him everyone was very well portrayed. Sidharth’s acting was bad, but it wasn’t good either. But then, that role was one that would have been super hard to cast, and perhaps couldn’t have been perfectly played by anyone.

Visual and Sound effects:

All the effects were very life-like, and I swear to God, I could imagine it happening in real life. I was constantly on the edge of my seat, waiting to see what happens next.

And the music was good too. To be honest, these days the standard of Bollywood music has definitely gone down, but this film has some seriously good music.


I will definitely recommend every Indian to watch this film, so that they too can be proud of their country and its soldiers. It is definitely one of my favourite Hindi films. I was nearly in tears at the end of it, and I rarely cry while reading or watching films.

My Rating: 🎦🎦🎦🎦.5

Have you watched the film? Do you intend to? What is one story about the Indian army which inspires you? Let me know in the comments!

18 thoughts on “Movie Review | Shershaah

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started