Reacting to Bookish Pet Peeves! | Part II

Hey everyone! Back in January, I asked you to share your bookish pet peeves, and here I am reacting to them!! So many of you responded and I am so exhilarated about that! Thank you everyone for making this post at least go towards success!

Click here to check part 1 out!

Note:
1.The habits are in italics and my reaction is in normal font.
2. This is just a fun thing and I don’t mean to offend anyone! If I say something that you feel is rude or offensive, please let me know in the comments and I will definitely change the bit. Forgive me if I make any mistakes!!
3. Also, I have linked to a post of the person who’s weird reading habit it was, but I haven’t mentioned their name or anything, because I promised anonymity. So, please don’t click on those links!

Let’s go!

Minions Lets Go GIF - Minions LetsGo - Discover & Share GIFs | Minions,  Letting go, Let it be

Number 1:

I don’t like it when I have to give my physical copy of the book to someone. They will spoil it even after promising they won’t.

I Know Right GIF by The Bachelor - Find & Share on GIPHY

Well, remind me to never ask you for a book😂. But yeah, I too make excuses when someone asks me for a book. It’s like I just can’t. It’s like will you let someone borrow your baby? You won’t right? Books are my babies. You ain’t gonna get it.

Number 2:

Anything that damages the cover! I’m known to return books if they don’t look perfect

Season 3 Netflix GIF by Gilmore Girls - Find & Share on GIPHY

Even I hate damaged books. Like I don’t mind if the spines are crinkled after I read the books, but I don’t like used books because they have crinkled spines nearly always. And well, I hate it when Amazon gives a book that isn’t in perfect condition. I don’t return em, because my parents order books for me, so.

Number 3:

When books in a series don’t match, when the edge of a cover doesn’t reach the edge of the book, or when translators decide to translate names of characters!

Utter Disgust GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Oh my god, that’s always terrible!!! Like I always am scared to order a series that isn’t completed. Because the authors might change the cover anytime!
And I have at least two series wherein that happens and I am like, ughhhh, everytime I see them!
And I don’t face the translation problem, but I can imagine how annoying that might be.

Number 4:

Too much “telling,” not enough “showing.” Sub-genre: awkwardly expositioney dialogue.

Kristen Bell Idk GIF by Team Coco - Find & Share on GIPHY

I am assuming you mean too much dialogue and very less description by these words. If you don’t let me know what you actually mean in the comments!

To be honest, I don’t enjoy reading descriptions and love dialogue… so this isn’t something I relate to😅

Number 5:

Carry on by Rainbow Rowell (yes I consider this book a pet peeve), not like other girls

Hmm GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

I haven’t read Carry On yet, but I do know people either really really like it, or really really don’t. I think I might fall in the second category and that’s why I haven’t read it.
As for not like other girls, I don’t really mind it as I think everyone is different. I am different, you are different, my friends are different, everyone is different, so technically every girl is not like other girls.

Number 6:

I hate it when a book has a small “i” in it!
I’m not so found by folded book pages.

confused huh? gif | WiffleGif

I recently read a book with small ‘i’s and I didn’t mind it too much, because the book was good.
As for dog ears, I have stated my opinions before. It’s their book, they can do whatever they want to it.

Number 7:

Bookish Pet Peeve: Princess Diaries (The whole series is my bookish pet peeve)

Nick Jonas GIF by Jumanji: The Next Level - Find & Share on GIPHY

This is the first time I am actually hearing something bad about the books. I haven’t ever really read them… I don’t even know what they are about, but I know that they are supposedly good. To each their own, I guess.

Number 8:

Bad grammar, and when someone puts a book upside down to mark the page they were on.

Mmm Hmm GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Well, bad grammar bothers everyone! I hate bad grammar. I don’t mind minor mistakes, but major ones are a big no-no.
As for placing the book upside down to mark the page, I do it when I need to take a two minute break or something. I just remember the page or put a bookmark otherwise.

Number 9:

Insta-love. I absolutely hate it with a burning passion because it makes no sense for me.

I Agree GIFs | Tenor

I know right! I have already raved a lot in the previous post, I ain’t gonna say more.

Number 10:

Love at first sight (that is so not realistic at all) and also the book finishing at the last page. I like a few pages left after the book finishes.

I Agree With You GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

You know my views on insta-love.
But I agree with the second one too, there is just something satisfying about the book ending with a few pages left. I don’t really know how to explain it, but yeah.

Number 11:

YA fantasy with super cliche or surface level romance. Or romance that overshadows the fantasy bits. I know to expect some love / crushes in the genre but I have to draw a line somewhere

Yeah I Get It GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Okay, I am a person who loves romance. Like YA, not adult. But in fantasy novels, there shouldn’t be too much romance because that kills the point of it being a fantasy novel. I felt this a little in Throne of Glass, because the romance shown between Rowan and Aelin was a little extreme.

Number 12:

 My bookish pet peeve is….
People ranting on how they love romance books(no offense, they’re are some specific people who overdo it, not you, someone I know)

Season 2 Eye Roll GIF by Friends - Find & Share on GIPHY

And my pet peeve is people not understanding my feelings for fictional characters.
I do not relate to this pet peeve at all. I love listening to people rant about fictional characters!

Number 13:

 My bookish pet peeve is: When writers go off topic

Well This Is Awkward GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

I am a person who goes off topic on my blog too…. hence, this is awkward. Umm… yeah, I am gonna move on now.

Number 14:

Bookish Pet Peeves: I hate it when someone just tries to snag your attention from the book by suddenly placing their palm on the page or worse trying to take it away as a “joke”. No don’t touch the book, just no.

Physically Nauseous GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

I HATE WHEN PEOPLE DO THIS! I mean, this is a choice. I choose to be with fictional characters and not talk to you, so let me be that way! Stay away person. Just please stay away.


Okay, so now it’s time to disclose my pet peeves! They are as follows:

My pet peeves

  1. Instalove (Don’t tell me you didn’t see this one coming)
  2. When people interrupt me when I am reading. I am just like.. ughhh shut up
  3. When the book people put a sticker on the the cover stating that a movie/TV show adaptation is on its way. It destroys the beautiful covers
  4. When people say they like the movie adaptation better than the book! And then your favorite book is re-released with the movie poster as the cover!
  5. When book people change the cover of the book mid-series
  6. When book people change the height of the book in the series.
  7. When someone proudly states that they don’t like to read…. and make fun of other readers.

Yeah, I am done ranting.

So, that’s all for today, I hope you enjoyed reading this post! Let me know down below what your bookish pet peeves are!

37 thoughts on “Reacting to Bookish Pet Peeves! | Part II

Add yours

  1. I totally relate with most of these. My bookish pet peeve is when people ask to borrow my book (especially when it’s new) and promise to keep it in amazing condition, but end up messing it up in some way. Or when I’m overly protective of a book and say “don’t touch it” but they touch it anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with almost everything YOU say, not the others'(like your reply to them). But, I don’t care if it’s instalove or slow-burn romance. I don’t judge if they get attracted to each other, because if they are each other’s ‘the 1’ they might be attracted to each other from the start. Also, I don’t mind them because I have never experienced it to judge their love. And I totally agree about books being our baby!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the shout-out! I’m #4 and I totally don’t mind if people follow the link!

    What I mean by “expositioney dialogue” is when characters talk unnaturally — when the dialogue serves more as exposition than natural conversation.

    For example, something like: “Well, since you *are* my best friend, you know that I am a very shy person and don’t feel comfortable on stage. Our mutual friend Stacey, on the other hand, would love to be in the starring role.”

    That may seem like an exaggerated example, but I’ve read conversations that are even more awkward… 😨 It’s also an example of telling vs. showing because the author is flatly telling you what the characters are like (This character is shy. This other character loves being onstage) instead of *showing* their personalities through their actions and through more natural conversation.

    I also completely agree about translators changing people’s names!!! At least, when I’m reading a Lithuanian translation that tries to Lithuanianize other cultures’ names in ways that don’t even sound like Lithuanian names.

    Like, you can change “Victor” to “Viktoras” just fine, because the latter is an actual Lithuanian name. And changing “Draco Malfoy” to “Drakas Smirdžius” is great, because the latter version literally means “Draco Stinky,” and that’s hilarious.

    But changing a name like Jason to “Džesonas” makes me cringe so hard, like I’m hearing blunt nails on a styrofoam chalkboard.

    Now, could someone please explain the “little i” to me? I have no idea what that means.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The struggle with the name translation is REAL!!! It’s so annoying and that’s why I much prefer reading books that are originally in English, in English. And I feel a little bad with the romance one 😅 I like to think that I don’t rave too much about it, but who knows 👀😬

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OH! I agree with so many of your pet peeves!! Especially the last one! I think some people think its “cool” to not read, and then make fun of readers…and I’m just like…UGH!!!!! Also, your GIFs are once again hilarious. Haha! Great post, Riddhi!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Getting interrupted while reading especially if it is in the most annoying way is you asking for my inner satan to come out. I agree with you on the last one too, we get it you’re voluntarily missing out on incredible experiences and badass stories that are frankly more worthwhile than most of the stuff out there…good for you ☺️🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am guilty of doing some of these😮😮😮
    But disturbance during reading is intolerable, now I have to read the whole para again, otherwise, I am not appreciating it the way it meant to be appreciated😉😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love this post Riddhi! 💜 Oh my gosh I agree 100%, movie tie-in covers are the WORST!!! I hate them with a burning passion 🥵 The not-like-other-girls trope is irritating for me as well, especially in fantasy — I think my issue with it is that by saying someone is “not like other girls,” it’s generalizing all those “other girls” as a certain type of character (like being shallow or vain). And ahhhh bad grammar is so annoying omg!! 😫

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes to all of your pet peeves! Those are sooo annoying! 🙄 Also, I totally hate when I isn’t capitalized or when books don’t use punctuation, too 🙈 – I just completely forgot to mention this until now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started