Things that irritate or motivate me as a blogger | Discussion post #5

Hola comrades! I am back with another discussion post (and back out of my hiatus-I will still be posting less than I used to, though), after I realized that this was a post that was building up in my mind for quite some time and that it was about time that I put it on paper (in this case on my blog). So here I am, to present to you a post about things that I enjoy as a blogger and things that irritate me as a blogger. It isn’t a bookish post though.

Also, no one’s to take any offence at whatever I say as those are just my views and I have nothing against any of you, if you do any of these things.

Warning: Harsh words ahead

Without further ado, let’s begin!

Things that irritate me as a blogger

  1. When people spell my name incorrectly
    I HATE WHEN THIS HAPPENS! And it isn’t even as though I have a complex name with hundred letters. My name isn’t the IUPAC name of Titin- it is a simple six letter name- R-I-D-D-H-I. Why can’t people get that straight?
  2. When people leave links of their blogs in the posts that they comment.
    I don’t know why people do this. To publicize their blogs, I get it, but if I am interested, I will check your blog out myself. I don’t need you to leave a link behind! It is just so irritating when people do this!!!
  3. When people write an email to me, less to appreciate my content, but more to get their blogs a new follower/ get their blog promoted by me.
    So, this one time, a blogger wrote to me saying that we could publicize each other’s blogs and stuff. I was so irritated😡😡😡. The blogger wasn’t all that active on WordPress and they expected me to follow their blog and stuff just because I liked one of their posts. I was annoyed!!
  4. When people follow my blog but aren’t all that active and don’t respond to my content.
    So, there are some really annoying people who follow my blog, but don’t respond to my content. I get that they might be busy and I don’t expect you to like all of my posts, but such people don’t like any of my posts! If you check the likes of my posts, the number of posts they have liked is zero! Zilch! Nada!!
  5. When people don’t use capital letters and punctuations in their posts (Basically have bad usage of grammar).
    I don’t know why, but this irks me a lot in blog posts. I am not all that concerned about this in texts or comments, but this irks me in blogging, whether it be a comment or a post. I am like: uuugggggggggghhhhhhhh, you just have to press one extra button, can’t you do that?!?!?!!! I also hate it when people have disorganized posts. Like no separator, nothing where you can figure out what is where. I know some of you might feel this about my Tag Thursday posts, but hey, I use a separator and bolden the font where new stuff begins!
    I am not the best in case of grammar but I try!
  6. When you comment on people’s posts and they don’t reply.
    This is one thing that irritates me to a limitless extent. I mean how can you expect me to enjoy your content if you don’t reply to my comments!

Sorry, if that was a bit extreme, but I felt like I needed to get my feelings out there. I meant no offence to anyone.

Things I like as a blogger

  1. When you get appreciated for your content.
    I love it when people like my post. I like it even more when people comment on my posts (especially long ones! Those are the best!! It shows that the commenter did not skim read my post). And I love it when people send me an email, appreciating my work.
  2. When you get tagged/nominated for something
    I love it when people tag me for tags- especially fun ones. And when I get nominated for an award…. oh, that feeling! That pure joy, the elation, the bliss! It is unforgettable!
  3. When you get a new follower
    I still feel the same thrill when I gain a new follower as I did the first time I did. It tells me that I am doing good work and that I should keep going the way I am.
  4. When you reach new milestones
    I don’t know about you, but I loved it when I reach round figures such as 100, 200 followers. I also reached 10,000 views recently and I was so freaking happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. When you get to talk and rant about books whenever you want to, and no one judges you
    This is my absolute favourite thing about blogging. I needn’t say anything more.
  6. When people remember your name even when your blog name does not include it/ when people identify you with your blog
    I don’t know why, but it just makes me happy😄😄.

I know, it wasn’t exactly a bookish discussion but I enjoyed doing it all the same! Thanks for reading!

Share some things that annoy you as a blogger or some things you like as a blogger! Let me know you views in the comments, people!!

57 thoughts on “Things that irritate or motivate me as a blogger | Discussion post #5

Add yours

  1. Goodness I’m glad I’m not the only one!
    Like what is up with people not using correct grammar? And OMG the not replying to a comment infuriates me so much. When I started blogging, I left a comment on one of the blogs. My very first comment. AND THEY DID NOT REPLY. That’s just so rude!!!!!!

    Also, I absolutely love recieving looong comments. It’s such an awesome feeling!!!!! I haven’t really been nominated along yet (I’m still a newbie). But I’m pretty sure I’ll be exhilarated to get nominations! 😀

    All in all, this was a brilliant post Riddhi! You go girl!!! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know right! Like I get it when someone is like not very fluent in the language and is just giving it a go, but when the grammar is like shit, I hate it!
      Ah, I know it is bad- comments do go into spam sometimes, but it is a blogger’s duty to check spam from time to time.
      Oh, I see! I am sure, you will enjoy!
      Thanks so much!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello! I just discover your blog and I agree with some points! (but not the grammar lol, mine is not good enough to critisize other). I like when I received like and comments, and I always reply (or try). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gosh, I absolutely hate bad grammar, too! And then there’s people who say it’s a stylistic device when they capitalize absolutely nothing, even in published books – like, WHY?!? 😭😭
    And as to the name thing – my phone still tries to autocorrect your name to “Rhiddi” every single time 😭 – I have no idea why, because it’s not like that’s an actual word in any of the languages I know 🙈 So should I ever misspell it again in the future – I’m very sorry and you should totally blame my phone 😁 Though I get where you’re coming from… The amount of times people have spelled my name “Naomi”, ” Noemi”, “Namie” or even “Name” is insane 😅
    And as far as people following me but never commenting goes, I don’t mind that much. Sure, I do prefer engaging with my audience, but I also know what it’s like to be kind of shy and not want to leave a huge internet presence… So if that works for them and they still enjoy my content, that’s good, too! Though yes, it really annoys me when people obviously only drop by to get me to read their posts in turn. Like, if you like about 20 posts of mine in a row, I’m gonna know you didn’t read them and are just doing it for attention! My posts are usually so long that reading 20 of them would probably take all day, after all…
    Anyway, I loved this post! Who doesn’t like a nice rant, especially when you still end it on a positive note? 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. IKR!
      Ah, that’s alright, I was just saying, it is a little annoying, that’s all.
      I get that, but all I am saying is that if you follow my blog, at least like my posts, or just do something to lemme know that I am on a right track.
      Thank you!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post!!! 👏👏👏
    Blogging is fun but also frustrating.
    The thing I hate most is, I am trying to increase my followers and I take part to follow trains or bloggers group supposedly to help each other. I found most of the times I engage, regularly like/comment other people blogs and never get anything back. At the same time, those bloggers keep demanding comments/like whatever…
    It makes me really sad… not even angry.
    Keep up with the great content! I love your blog because you always so original and fun and always helping out other bloggers. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This was so great. I giggled a bit when you mentioned that you get irritated at misspellings😂. It doesn’t bother me too much especially when the commenters say that English is not their first language

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Have to say that the grammar one is 100% me, all the time. I am sooooo lazy that even though i could change it, i choose not to because people will get the jist. Seeing as I work in a school you’d think it my grammar was tip nosh! 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I totally agree with the grammar thing. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves! But unfortunately, it’s also the one that many people do. I get that English might be your second language, but still… Grammar is there for a reason, people!! Use it! Lol. But seriously, this post was so relatable. With my name (real one. Not Moi) people wrote it down correctly, but butcher it while they’re pronouncing it. What.

    Great post Riddhi! Really enjoyed reading it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m so glad you’re out of hiatus! Great post btw 🙂
    I haven’t been in the book community to get any pet peeves yet, but I get why they might be annoying!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YES!!! i totally agree– grammar can be super annoying. i’m not asking for perfection (i myself am an avid overuser of commas) but can we use sentences please.
    I absolutely love the feeling when people leave super long comments. I feel like it’s a great way to show appreciation and to start a conversation! Love this post so much!!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I laughed so so SOOO much reading this!! I agree with so much! When people leave links in the comments simply to publicize their blogs annoys me too 🙄! I don’t mind it much when it’s relevant to the conversation or if they’re sharing a post I said I was interested in. But if it’s just for the sake of it… Why?? 🤦🏽‍♀️ And the grammar too. I think the least that anyone can do is to capitalize and punctuate. I don’t understand why you would even bother writing a post if you’re not going to do it properly.

    I can’t believe that someone actually emailed you so that you would talk about their blog 😳!! First of all, that is very bold. And second… I mean, you’re just not supposed to do that. I’m very confused about that 😅

    And all the good things you said were great too!! I get so excited whenever anything happens regarding my blog. Followers, tags, views, or awards… Everything makes me super happy and excited 😆

    AMAZING post Riddhi!! I loved it. I think it might actually be one of my favorites of yours 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My favorite thing about posting is (obviously) writing my thoughts but also getting comments because that puts a voice to a follower/reader. And I like to hear other opinions/commentary. I only have 30+ followers but having silent followers must be annoying because the point is to have engagement. I think I have a few, like some people just follow and thats it like engage! Otherwise I can only envision them as a mindless computer. Is that weird idk? Anyway those are my thoughts 👍

    And you are so close to 300 followers Riddhi! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This post is too relatable haha! I really don’t like it when people don’t respond to my comments, that just doesn’t give me a good feeling! What I do really like is when people comment on my blog! It’s just so motivating!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lol the grammar one is annoying 😂 People make mistakes every now and then so that’s fine. But it shouldn’t be so much that it would distract the reader

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Omg great post! I agree with a lot of what you have said. I feel like with grammar, I prefer for the reviews and posts that I read to have proper punctuation. When I’m writing my own posts, I focus a lot on making sure the grammar is proper so I do appreciate it when I see it in other posts as well. I think that a lot of people may not really think about that, and I feel like it’s fine as long as it’s not distracting or the flow is off because of it. Also, people who don’t have english as their first language, I totally get it.

    I also really love being tagged in things! Knowing that someone considered you when they were writing their post is such a nice thought. I also, of course, truly love the fact that each person’s blog is personal to them, and we can rant and discuss in our own spaces without judgment. I enjoyed this post and seeing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great post and visit my site at….. 😃.. sorry I couldn’t stop myself from them pun. I hear you, the number of times I get annoyed with comments that are not even related to a post which are clearly a marketing exercise. It is rather a shame because as blogger you’d put so much energy into writing something. Id personally be very happy if any discussion comes out of it. The fake ones are those which I can’t handle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started