Mrs. McGinty’s Dead Book Review | Read-a-thon Read #10

Well, technically it is the 11th- I finished The Siege: 68 hours in The Taj (Yes, I read a freaking non-fiction novel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)- but I am still researching a bit about the attack + the review of it would be much longer and informative than this one and I don’t have the time to do that detailed of a review, right now, so here I am reviewing Mrs. McGinty’s Dead!

The prompt for this book is: Hey Stephen: Read a book with a name in the title

Buy Mrs McGinty's Dead (Poirot) Book Online at Low Prices in India | Mrs  McGinty's Dead (Poirot) Reviews & Ratings - Amazon.in

Blurb:
‘Mrs McGinty’s dead!’ ‘How did she die?’ ‘Down on one knee, just like I!’ The old children’s game now seemed rather tasteless. The real Mrs McGinty was killed by a crushing blow to the back of the head and her pitifully small savings were stolen. Suspicion falls immediately on her lodger, hard up and out of a job. Hercule Poirot has other ideas – unaware that his own life is now in great danger. 

For a Christie novel, this book was rather bland. Don’t get me wrong, I still wasn’t able to guess the murderer correctly, but the build-up wasn’t all that great. The language differed from other Christie novels + the absence of Captain Hastings was thundering. I love Captain Hastings and hated it when Christie married him off. I want him to be Poirot’s companion forever and ever more!

The characters were portrayed moderately well, even though Poirot’s character ,like always, shone brighter than a star. Christie captured the ‘psyche’ of the characters very well, I must say so.
The plot could have been stronger, although it wasn’t all that bad.

I recommend this book to crime and mystery lovers and people who have just begun to read Christie or haven’t ever read her books.

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐.5

Have you read this books? Do you enjoy reading Christie novels? Who do you like more Miss Marple or Hercule Poirot? Let me know in the comments!!

Also, do not forget to fill this feedback form if you haven’t already!!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started